The San Francisco Symphony

The San Francisco Symphony continues a tradition that began in 1926, when it became the first symphonic ensemble in the United States heard in regular radio broadcasts.


Sunday, 4 p.m. – 6 p.m
April through June
on Music Station

 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

Sunday, September 6, 2015 Permalink

San Francisco Symphony: Program Details 6 September 2015

Gil Shaham | Photo: Christian Steiner

Gil Shaham | Photo: Christian Steiner

Traditional Balinese gamelan music opens this concert that includes excerpts from Benjamin Britten's gamelan-influenced ballet The Prince of the Pagodas. Also, Gil Shaham is soloist in the Violin Concerto #2 by Prokofiev.


Conductor:  Michael Tilson Thomas    


Traditional: Tabuh Pat Jagul
Gamelan Sekar Jaya, gamelan ensemble

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Opus 63
Soloist: Gil Shaham, violin

Britten: Excerpts from The Prince of the Pagodas, Opus 57

More From The San Francisco Symphony