The San Francisco Symphony

The San Francisco Symphony continues a tradition that began in 1926, when it became the first symphonic ensemble in the United States heard in regular radio broadcasts.


Sunday, 4 p.m. – 6 p.m
April through June
on Music Station

 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

Sunday, June 7, 2015 Permalink

San Francisco Symphony: Program Details 7 June 2015

Alexander Barantschik

Alexander Barantschik

SFS Concertmaster Alexander Barantschik leads the orchestra as well as solos in the early (age 12!) Violin Concerto in d-minor by Felix Mendelssohn. Plus works by Mozart, Benjamin Britten and Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla.


Leader:  Alexander Barantschik    


Mozart: Divertimento in F major for Strings, K.138(125c)

Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in D minor
Soloist: Alexander Barantschik, violin

Britten: Simple Symphony, Opus 4

Piazzolla: Melodia-Libertango
Soloist: Seth Asarnow, bandoneón