• NEWS 90.9 KXJZ Sacramento
  • 90.5 KKTO Tahoe/Reno
  • 91.3 KUOP Stockton
  • 88.1 KQNC Quincy
  • MUSIC 88.9 KXPR Sacramento
  • 91.7 KXSR Groveland/Sonora
  • 88.7 KXJS Sutter/Yuba City

San Francisco Symphony: Program Details 25 May 2014

Alexander Barantschik, leader and violinist


Vivaldi:  Piccolo Concerto in C Major, RV 443
Soloist: Catherine Payne, piccolo

Bach:  Violin Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041
Soloist: Alexander Barantschik, violin

Mozart:  Divertimento in D Major for Strings, K.136 (125a)

Bach:  Concerto in D Minor for Violin and Oboe, BWV 1060
Soloists: Alexander Barantschik, violin; Jonathan D. Fischer, oboe

Mozart:  Serenade No. 6 in D Major, K.239, Serenata notturna


Mozart:  Symphony No. 36 in C Major, K. 425, Linz (Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor)


Alexander Barantschik joined the SFS in 2001 and performs on the famed 1742 Guarnerius del Gesù “David” violin, previously owned by Jascha Heifetz, on loan from the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco’s Legion of Honor. A native of St. Petersburg, Barantschik previously served as concertmaster of the London Symphony Orchestra.

Sunday, May 25, 2014
We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter

We Get Support From:

Become a Supporter