The San Francisco Symphony

The San Francisco Symphony continues a tradition that began in 1926, when it became the first symphonic ensemble in the United States heard in regular radio broadcasts.


Sunday, 4 p.m. – 6 p.m
April through June
on Music Station

 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

Sunday, May 18, 2014 Permalink

San Francisco Symphony: Program Details 18 May 2014


Conductor: Michael Tilson Thomas


R. StraussTill Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks, Op. 28

Mark Volkert Pandora (World Premiere)

Beethoven:  Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 73, Emperor
Soloist: Yefim Bronfman, piano


Mozart:  Symphony No. 38 in D Major, K.504, Prague (Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor)


Mark Volkert has been a violinist in the San Francisco Symphony since 1972 and Assistant Concertmaster since 1980. Pandora, for orchestral strings, was written in 2010 and carries the dedication: “For Michael Tilson Thomas and the strings of the San Francisco Symphony with great admiration.”