Carie Charlesworth says she lost her job last year as a teacher at a private elementary school in San Diego after her ex-husband showed up on campus after they had been having some issues.
"And the school went into lockdown, and I lost my job due to that, and my children were forced to leave their school, because they attended that school as well," says Charlesworth.
The new California law wouldn’t apply to Charlesworth, because she taught at a private school. But she says, it's important that victims of domestic violence can speak to their employers about what’s going on.
"It shouldn’t be a silent, dirty secret anymore,” she says.
The measure bans employers from discriminating against victims of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. It also requires businesses to make what the law calls “reasonable accommodations” for workers who notify employers of their concerns.
That could include implementing safety measures or changing the victim’s work schedule.
July 1, 2014
(AP) -- California's minimum wage is rising to $9 per hour, providing workers with the first increase since 2008.
June 30, 2014
California state employees will be getting the first pay raise many of them have had in years starting Tuesday.
June 27, 2014
A law that extends California’s paid family leave benefit to people caring for grandchildren, grandparents, siblings and in-laws will go into effect July 1. The original law took effect on the same day 10 years ago.
June 26, 2014
California voters will decide this fall whether some low-level drug and theft offenses should be tried as misdemeanors instead of felonies. Meanwhile, the Legislature and Board of Equalization are pushing policies to help the food industry.
Follow us for more stories like this
CapRadio provides a trusted source of news because of you. As a nonprofit organization, donations from people like you sustain the journalism that allows us to discover stories that are important to our audience. If you believe in what we do and support our mission, please donate today.