We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

12 of 14 California Republicans In House Vote For GOP Tax Bill

Rich Pedroncelli / AP /  File

Rep. Tom McClintock, R-Calif., speaks at the 19th Annual Lake Tahoe Summit at Zephyr Cove, Monday, Aug. 24, 2015, in South Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

Rich Pedroncelli / AP / File

Twelve of California's 14 Republican congressmen voted in favor of the GOP tax bill Tuesday. Members of the House will have to vote again Wednesday to fix some language that doesn't agree with Senate rules.

Foothills Representative Tom McClintock voted against an early version of the legislation, but voted in favor this time.

He says concerns he had with tax rates for his middle-class constituents were addressed and fixed.

During an address on the House floor Tuesday he said while he supports the bill he does realize it could increase the deficit.

"Concerns over the deficit are legitimate and must be addressed by spending reforms in the coming year," McClintock said. "We must always remember that taxes and debt are driven by just one thing, spending."

McClintock's district stretches between Placer and Fresno counties, mostly in the rural foothills and Sierra Nevada regions.
Congressmen Darrell Issa of San Diego and Dana Rohrabacher of Orange County were the only California Republicans to vote against the tax plan.

Issa says the changes to the bill didn't go far enough to guarantee tax relief for his constituents.

Sign up for ReCap

and never miss the top stories

Delivered to your inbox every Wednesday.

Check out a sample ReCap newsletter.