We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

General Mills Recalling 1.8M Cheerios Boxes On Allergy Risk

Paul Sakuma / AP

Boxes of General Mill's "Cheerios" cereal are displayed at Piazza's grocery store in Palo Alto, Calif., Tuesday, June 28, 2011.

Paul Sakuma / AP

(AP) - General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.