People who take care of the elderly, young, or disabled will be eligible for time and a half their normal wage for hours worked in excess of nine hours per day or 45 hours a week.
Adela Gaunia of Sacramento has been working as a caregiver for five years. She says she leaves her employers if they don’t pay her fairly.
“They just give you whatever they want. And sometimes how they treated you. They ask you to work many hours without paying overtime. That’s why I always leave. And looking for someone to treat me as a human being,” says Gaunia.
Supporters of the law say that 200,000 people work in private California homes as housekeepers and caregivers, and most of them are immigrant women.
Some caregivers are exempt from the law, which will expire in three years.
More New Laws
(AP) -- California's minimum wage is rising to $9 per hour, providing workers with the first increase since 2008.
California state employees will be getting the first pay raise many of them have had in years starting Tuesday.
A law that extends California’s paid family leave benefit to people caring for grandchildren, grandparents, siblings and in-laws will go into effect July 1. The original law took effect on the same day 10 years ago.
California voters will decide this fall whether some low-level drug and theft offenses should be tried as misdemeanors instead of felonies. Meanwhile, the Legislature and Board of Equalization are pushing policies to help the food industry.
Victims of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking in California no longer have to worry about being fired or discriminated against at their workplace under a new state law now in effect.
CapRadio provides a trusted source of news because of you. As a nonprofit organization, donations from people like you sustain the journalism that allows us to discover stories that are important to our audience. If you believe in what we do and support our mission, please donate today.