Connections

Hosted By Stephen Peithman

Exploring the often surprising links between concepts, themes and people in classical music, from medieval to modern

Schedule

Saturday, 4 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Rebroadcast Sunday, 2 p.m. – 3 p.m.
on Music Station

 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 
 We Get Support From:
Become a Supporter 

Peithman"On Connections we focus on links between works or composers, and music that shares a common theme or inspiration,"
explains host Stephen Peithman. "It all adds up to great stories and great music."

Stephen has been contributing shows since 1984, first with Musical Stages, and now, Connections--all with the help of Recording Engineer Mark Jones.  More...

For a list of recordings used in each program, click on the program's title below, after the program has aired.

Upcoming Shows

LATEST SHOW | Saturday, June 23, 2018

Saturday, June 16, 2018

A Midsummer Night's Connection

Shakespeare's classic comedy--in music

Saturday, June 9, 2018

The Jazz Connection

Why jazz was a fascinating journey for these composers—but for most, a dead-end street

Saturday, June 2, 2018

The Wedding Connection

Music by Wagner, Bach, Mendelssohn, Rimsky-Korsakov, Goldmark, Grieg, Saint-Saens, and Maxwell Davies.

Saturday, May 26, 2018

The Vacation Connection

Music inspired by composers on vacation

Saturday, May 19, 2018

The Patron Connection

Extraordinary patrons of music—and the extraordinary works they inspired

Saturday, May 12, 2018

The Gershwin-Ravel Connection

The fascinating links between these two composers, and their music

Saturday, May 5, 2018

The Southern Connection

A summer morning along a Florida river, Cajun dances in Louisiana, a Kentucky mountain ballad, Sunday in an African American church, and more

Saturday, April 28, 2018

The Herbert-Dvorak Connection

The remarkable story behind a great concert classic

Saturday, April 21, 2018

The Rossini Connection

Schubert's great debt to Rossini is explored