Several new laws went into effect January 1 and July 1, 2014. Capital Public Radio has stories about each new legislation -- its origins and how it impacts Californians.
CapRadio Stories On 2014 New Laws
(AP) -- California's minimum wage is rising to $9 per hour, providing workers with the first increase since 2008.
California state employees will be getting the first pay raise many of them have had in years starting Tuesday.
A law that extends California’s paid family leave benefit to people caring for grandchildren, grandparents, siblings and in-laws will go into effect July 1. The original law took effect on the same day 10 years ago.
California voters will decide this fall whether some low-level drug and theft offenses should be tried as misdemeanors instead of felonies. Meanwhile, the Legislature and Board of Equalization are pushing policies to help the food industry.
Victims of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking in California no longer have to worry about being fired or discriminated against at their workplace under a new state law now in effect.
With all the new laws taking effect in California this year we wanted a quick and fun way to share the stories with our listeners. Explore the new legislation from teen drivers to immigration within this interactive graphic.
Children in California can now have more than two legal parents.
A sixteen-year-old California student was a driving force behind a new state law aimed at improving school for transgender students.
Craft breweries and liquor distillers in California could get shots of new business as a result of two new state laws taking effect in 2014 - and beer and liquor drinkers will likely be happy as well.
The California Supreme Court has admitted an undocumented immigrant to the state bar.
NEW LAWS FOR MUNICIPALITIES:
New Laws 2012
New Laws For Motorists
- AMBER ALERT: Expansion (AB 535, Quirk): This law requires law enforcement to request activation of the AMBER Alerts after receiving a report that a child has been taken abducted by anyone, including a custodial parent or guardian, who may cause serious bodily injury or death to the child.
- BICYCLES: Passing Distance (AB 1371, Bradford): This law prohibits motorists from passing a bicycle with less than three feet between any part of the vehicle and any part of the bicycle or driver. When three feet is not possible, the motor vehicle must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed and only pass when no danger is present to the bicyclist. Failing to do so can incur a fine, regardless of a collision or not. This law will go into effect September 16, 2014.
- CHARTER BUS CARRIERS: Limousines: Emergency Exits (SB 109, Corbett): By January 1st, 2016, every limousine that has been modified or extended to accommodate additional passengers shall have two rear doors and one or two internally removable rear emergency windows. If such modifications occurred on or after July of 2015, these requirements apply immediately after July 1st, 2015. All new limousines manufactured after January 1st, 2015 must meet these requirements as well.
- HIGH OCCUPANCY VEHICLE LANES (AB 266 / SB 286, Yee / Blumenfield): Together these laws extend sunset dates for low emission, zero emission vehicles to operate in high occupancy vehicle lanes (HOV) without meeting occupancy requirements to January 1, 2019.
- HIT AND RUN: Statute of Limitations (AB 184, Gatto): This law extends the statute of limitations for hit-and-run collisions in which death or permanent, serious injury was a result. A criminal complaint may be filed within three years of the offense, or one year after the person was initially identified by law enforcement as a suspect in the commission of the offense, which ever comes later, but in no case more than six years after the offense.
- REGISTRATION FEES: Vehicle Theft (AB 767, Levine): This law authorizes counties to increase registration fees by $1 for passenger vehicles and $2 for commercial vehicles to fund programs related to vehicle theft crimes in those counties.
- SEARCH WARRANTS: Chemical Tests (SB 717, DeSaulnier): This amendment to current law authorizes the issuance of a search warrant to draw blood from a person in a reasonable, medically approved manner, to show that the person violated misdemeanor DUI provisions when that person has refused an officer’s request to submit to, or has failed to complete, a blood test. This law has been operative since September 20, 2013.
- TEEN DRIVERS (SB 194, Galgiani): This law prohibits a person who is under 18 years of age from using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication while driving, even if it is equipped with a hands-free device.
We Get Support From: